Blog, Blob, Blog blog blog-(aRepost)

I think my brain is fried from staring at the Blogosphere. I am still not sure how I am finding any blogs-which is a definite concern to me and a testament  to how computably challenged I have become.  I am-I am sure they are everywhere. I started this journey first to fulfill a contract, second for selfish reasons, and 3rd because after a PR person laughed in my face when I said my marketing budget was $10,000 (which took me a long time to build up), I became quite agitated. But after I started researching what writers were doing to try and promote their books I had to shut off all my notifications and it hit me-why would I want to be a part of this? Clearly there is something ridiculous about the current process and I certainly wasn’t going to pay some PR person to jam a product down someone’s throat. I also told the publisher I would not be inviting my friends to a forced book signing at a Barnes and Noble, because other than that group-no one knows my name. I would however gladly invite a group of friends to a tavern with an open tab for a release party and if they wanted to read something- it would be there if they bought the next round, or introduced me to their wives sister (John). Just kidding John can’t read anything unless there is a picture of a naked woman above it.

But jamming up your friends is not my idea of what friends are for, and I am learning that’s not what this circle is for either.  In fact my particular book which comes out in July, might be one of the choppiest things I have ever written, but the subject is controversial and it is building steam. Maybe it will be the most sued book ever. Now that would be great to be a part of.

The reason I am contacting you-BLOG world.  Other than to vent, is for guidance. I want to interact and read and find good information, and when I finally struggled through the basics of launching a blog-I actually found peace and for the first time since my book got picked up, I was finally able to write under no pressure and felt a release I haven’t felt in a long time. Ah yes-I remember why I like to write, and I suddenly found the missing time to read again. I also started to find information I found invaluable, including a news reader-(although I didn’t subscribe to ESPN and can’t figure out how to turn it off)-and seriously who needs that much information about sports. I have laughed out loud at some of the great things I was reading. Especially Nathan Bradley’s expose on life.  So is there any advice you could offer as to the best way to interact, build, and request readers or at this point or even just filter out the people who have nothing other to say than-hey my book, look here, a book, free book? Want to win a book? How about a chapter? #book #anything I can think of that might trick a person. Also #sexvampire #Iam robbing your server as you read this #Banana. I know this might seem like a strange request-but considering how tapped into the market all these marketers are telling me they are-there must be something I am missing.  I apologize for the length of this Blog. I just had to get that off my chest. Thank you in advance for any guidance you might be able to offer. Have a great weekend. How do you even get someone to find your blog? That would be something good to know I would think. Image LOL. Thanks again. I even included a free service announcement in this to help people!

About bdehaven

DeHaven keeps his heart in Chicago and his soul in New Orleans-that's why he lives in Las Vegas. He holds a MBA from Tulane and a film degree from Columbia. Once ejected from a community college for arguing Frost's agenda in Birches, he has since written screenplays, traded futures in Madrid, and was Editor in Chief of the Nola Shopper Newspaper.(and enterprise Michael Enzo Bankrupt) He also has a "shout out" in a Jay "Z" Song. He and Michael Enzo were friends. http://bdehaven.com "A celebrity ghostwriter, you’ve never heard of, examining his own life of crushing addictions and alleged organized crime connections while struggling to present the truth behind our own behaviors." Author of Confessions of a Self-Help Writer (The Journal of Michael Enzo) the #1 Most Wished for Book of the Year on Indie Bound for over 14 weeks
This entry was posted in Advice, Everyday Problems, Not for Everyone, Satire, Writers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

There are no stupid comments-Only private stupid thoughts. Please talk to us

